Betfred World Matchplay

Betfred World Matchplay


The prestigious event will see 32 of the world’s best players battling it out from July 18-26 for The Phil Taylor Trophy, as Rob Cross looks to defend his title.

World number one Michael van Gerwen and newly-crowned World Champion Peter Wright will also be in action, with the world’s top 16 joined by 16 qualifiers from the ProTour Order of Merit.

The World Matchplay race has been updated after the eighth Players Championship event which could be the last for a while.

The cut-off for the World Matchplay this year is July 5, 2020. Due to the uncertainty about the future tournaments due to coronavirus; this could benefit certain players who are only just in qualification positions currently.

The virtual qualifying list at the moment includes the usual names alongside some surprises, for Jose de Sousa, Gabriel Clemens and Dimitri van den Bergh; they will likely make their debut in Blackpool.

Brendan Dolan and Justin Pipe, who have not been in the tournament for some time have shown a mark of their form improving; especially for the former with both well inside of the top 16 for qualification.

Kim Huybrechts is currently the final name from the ProTour replacing recent ranking winner Ryan Searle; as he continues his current resurgence at the expense of ‘Heavy Metal’; like alluded to, it could be the final list if the action doesn’t restart.

Click here for more information on the Pro Tour and the prize fund breakdown

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.